North Devon Coast

National Landscape

01392 388628

Welcome to North Devon Coast National Landscape

North Devon Coast National Landscape – the new name for our designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty which covers 171 square kilometres (66 square miles) of mainly coastal landscape including special places such as Combe Martin, Lee Bay, Woolacombe, Croyde, Saunton, Northam Burrows Country Park, Westward Ho!’s Pebble Ridge, the Hartland Peninsula and Braunton Burrows, a UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve.

The landscape varies from wild coastal cliffs, spectacular waterfalls and rocky coves to sand dunes and beaches, wooded combes and valleys with sheltering villages.

The National Landscape Partnership supports sustainable development for our coastal communities and the rural economy, whilst conserving the outstanding wildlife, landscape and heritage of North Devon.

Download a free “Discover the AONB” map for North Devon and Torridge. The maps will guide you around the National Landscape and highlight the wildlife you may see along the way.

Sign up to receive our National Landscape Newsletter.


Hedge Laying

Hedge laying with John Breeds